Oriel Produce & Floral Ltd.
Waterford, Ireland
Tel: +353 87 2603635
Fax: +353 1 6335011
Home Page
About US
Classification 1 - Trumpet Daffodils
Classification 2 - Large-cupped DaffodilsClassification 3 - Small-cupped DaffodilsClassification 4 - Double DaffodilsClassification 5 - Triandrus DaffodilsClassification 6 - Cyclamineus Daffodils
Classification 7 - Jonquilla DaffodilsClassification 8 - Tazetta DaffodilsClassification 9 - Poeticus DaffodilsClassification 10 - Bulbocodium HybridsClassification 11 - Split-Corona DaffodilsClassification 12 - Other Daffodils
Shipping InformationFAQ's

You are here...HomeDaffodils > 

System of Classification for Daffodils

Due to the fact that there are thousands of daffodil varieties, it has been necessary to divide them into twelve distinct classifications. These classifications are described below.

The classification of each daffodil is based on its description and measurement. A daffodil is described by the petals colour and the cups colour. The petal is described by using the colour code starting at the outside of the petal and working the way towards the centre. The cup is also described by using the colour code starting with the inside and ending at the rim of the cup.

This colour code used to describe the daffodil colour is as follows:

  • G - green
  • O - orange
  • P - pink
  • R - red
  • W - white
  • Y - yellow
  • P - Pink

As an example we'll use Hollywood. The written format would be 2YO. It falls into classification 2, has yellow petals and an orange cup. If the petals and the cup are the same colour only one letter is needed.

Classification 1 - Trumpet Daffodils Classification 1 - Trumpet Daffodils
One flower on stem and the trumpet as long or longer than its petals.
Classification 2 - Large-cupped Daffodils Classification 2: Large-cupped Daffodils
One flower on each stem and the cup at least a third but not longer than the petals.
Classification 3 - Small-cupped Daffodils Classification 3: Small-cupped Daffodils
One flower on each stem with its cup up to one third of petal length
Classification 4 - Double Daffodils Classification 4: Double Daffodils
As the name suggests consists of fully double flowers and sometimes a double corona only. These can be one-stemmed or have multiple flowers on the one stem
Classification 5 - Triandrus Daffodils Classification 5: Triandrus Daffodils
Normally two or three nodding flowers on each stem and are generally shorter than other classifications.
Classification 6 - Cyclamineus Daffodils Classification 6: Cyclamineus Daffodils
Similiar to Triandrus with nodding flowers and swept back petals, but differs in two ways; hardly ever having more than one flower on each stem and having a longer corona
Classification 7 - Jonquilla Daffodils Classification 7: Jonquilla Daffodils
Two-three flowers on each stem with the leaves a darker green than other classifications
Classification 8 - Tazetta Daffodils Classification 8: Tazetta Daffodils
Can be up to 20 or more flowers on each stem with its cups rounded and like the Jonquilla the leaves are of a dark green in colour
Classification 9 - Poeticus Daffodils Classification 9: Poeticus Daffodils
Similiar to class 3 as both have small cup sizes with one flower on each stem however these have pure white petals and flat flared cups of bright colours
Classification 10 - Bulbocodium Hybrids Classification 10: Bulbocodium Hybrids
Small flowers which resemble form of a petticoat hoop
Classification 11 - Split-Corona Daffodils Classification 11: Split-Corona Daffodils
Have a split corona of at least one third of its length and a very frilled rim
Classification 12 - Other Daffodils Classification 12: Others
Daffodil varieties not falling into any of the previous classifications
Classification 13 - Misc Classification 13: Misc
All species, especially wild forms.


For Christmas, Winter and Thanksgiving

Have a look at our Christmas Varieties :


designed, hosted and promoted by aceposition.com